Duplicate or Delete a Product

This article goes over how to duplicate and delete products in your Teachable school.

Overview

School owners can delete their Teachable products (i.e., courses, coaching products, or bundles) at any time.

TIP: If you want to delete your entire school, learn how in the Delete Your School or Account article.

Additionally, school owners can duplicate courses in their school. You might want to duplicate a course in order to keep an extra copy for backup, or if you would like to build a new course that uses parts of the same curriculum of an existing course.

Duplicate a course

School owners can duplicate a course within their own school at any time.

When you duplicate a course, all course content (except for student enrollment records) will be duplicated into another course. This means that the course curriculum, course thumbnail image, and page content will all be duplicated into a new course.

The new course will appear in the Courses section. The duplicate will be denoted with a number in the title (e.g., (Ice Cream Making for Beginners (1)). You can modify the name of the duplicated course in the Information area of the course admin.

NOTE: Coaching products and bundles cannot be duplicated.

To duplicate a course:

  1. Navigate to the Information tab of the course.
  2. In the Publish & Preview section, click the More dropdown menu.
  3. Click Duplicate Course.
  4. In the popup window, click Duplicate to confirm.

The screen shows a course (selected from the COURSES section of the left side navigation menu. The INFORMATION tab of the course is selected from the left side submenu. At the top of the page, in the PUBLISH AND PREVIEW section, the MORE button is selected. From that dropdown menu, the DUPLICATE COURSE button is circled.

NOTE: If you are interested in copying a course from one of your own schools to another school you own, and are on a paid plan, contact our Customer Support team for more information.

Delete a course

There are two ways to delete a course.

Option one:

  1. Navigate to the Courses tab of your admin side menu.
  2. Click the More Options button (the three dots) next to the specific course you want to delete.
  3. Select Delete Course.
  4. In the popup window, click Delete to confirm.

The COURSES tab from the left side navigation menu is selected and there is a list of courses displayed. Next to the first course on the list, the MORE OPTIONS icon is selected, and from that dropdown menu, the DELETE COURSE button is circled.

Option two:

  1. Navigate to the Courses tab of your admin side menu.
  2. Click into a specific course.
  3. From the Information tab of that course, click the More dropdown menu at the top of the page.
  4. Select Delete Course.
  5. In the popup window, click Delete to confirm.

The screen shows the INFORMATION page of a specific course. At the top of the page, the MORE button is selected, and from that dropdown menu, the DELETE COURSE button is circled.

CAUTION: Deleting a course is permanent. Once you confirm that you would like to delete your course, its content will be irretrievable..

Delete a coaching product

To delete a coaching product:

  1. Click the Coaching tab of your admin side menu.
  2. Click into a specific coaching product.
  3. From the Information tab, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Delete Coaching.
  4. In the popup window, click Delete to confirm.

The screen shows the INFORMATION page of a specific coaching product. At the bottom of the page, the DELETE COACHING button is highlighted.

CAUTION: Deleting a coaching product is permanent. Once you confirm that you would like to delete your course, its content and records will be irretrievable.

Delete a bundle

To delete a product bundle:

  1. Click the Bundles tab of your admin side menu.
  2. Click into a specific bundle.
  3. From the Information tab, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Delete Bundle.
  4. In the popup window, click Delete to confirm.

The screen shows the INFORMATION page of a specific bundle product. At the bottom of the page, the DELETE BUNDLE button is highlighted.

Deleting a bundle does not delete the individual courses or coaching products included in the bundle. If you would like to delete an individual course or delete an individual coaching product, you must do so separately.

When a bundle is deleted, students who enrolled in the bundle will lose access to the individual courses and products that were included in the bundle. If a student purchased a bundle as a recurring subscription or payment plan, those payments will end once the bundle is deleted.

Learn more about product bundles.

Frequently asked questions

Does deleting a product automatically end any active subscriptions or payment plans for students enrolled in that product?

Yes. When you delete a product, it will end active subscriptions and payment plans for students enrolled in that product, so they will not be charged again.

Is there any way to retrieve a deleted product?

No. Deleting a product is permanent

Can I still access student records related to deleted products (such as progress reports, purchase records, etc.)?

Student enrollment records, including progress report data, are not available for deleted products.

You will still be able to see sales records from your Sales > Transactions menu for deleted products.

Was this article helpful?

82 out of 281 found this helpful