Sections and Lectures

In a Teachable course, content is divided into sections and lectures. This article goes over how to create sections and lectures in your Teachable courses.

The difference between a section and a lecture

To add content to your Teachable course you’ll need to add sections and lectures. Sections contain groupings of lectures; lectures are structured informational units that comprise of text, files, video, images, and/or quizzes. Both sections and lectures can be created and modified in your course's Curriculum section.

In general, sections focus on a particular theme or concept. Lectures can be used to break down the theme or concept and explain further. There is no limit to the number of sections and lectures that you can create—it’s up to you to determine the best way to structure your course curriculum.

Create a section

  1. Log in to your Teachable school.
  2. From your Teachable admin area, click Courses and navigate to the desired course.
  3. Click Curriculum from the course admin sidebar.
  4. Click New Section in the upper right-hand portion of the page.
    new_add_section.png
  5. After inputting a Section Name, click Create Section. The newly added section will now appear on the curriculum page.

Create/duplicate a lecture

To create a lecture within a section, click on the Add new lecture button:

new_add_lecture.png
Additionally, you can duplicate an existing lecture into the same section by clicking the More Options (three dot) icon to the right of the existing lecture and click Duplicate lecture:

new_options_duplicate_lecture.png

To rearrange lectures or sections within a course, click and hold the drag indicator next to a lecture/section, and drag the lecture to place it in the desired order:

new_reorder_lecture.gif

To adjust lecture settings, visit the Settings > General > Lectures section of your school admin. When you've finished adding lecture content, you can then publish the lecture.

Bulk uploading lectures

If you already have lecture materials created (e.g. PDFs, videos, images, etc), you can bulk upload your files as their own individual lectures by clicking the Bulk Upload button.

NOTE: This feature is only available on Teachable paid plans (i.e., the Basic plan and up).

new_bulk_upload.png

Please note that each uploaded file will become its own lecture. As as result, we recommend using file names that are appropriate for your lecture. For example, if you are uploading 5 PDF files on making ice cream, make sure that each file is named after its respective lecture (e.g. “Lecture 1 - Why should I make ice cream?”)

CAUTION: Avoid using special characters in your document or video file name when bulk uploading because it may cause issues. Instead, use letters, numbers, dashes, and underscores.

When your files are done uploading, you’ll see each as its own lecture, in draft status. Now, you can go modify each lecture as you see fit.

Mark lectures as free previews

Marking a lecture as a free preview helps potential students decide whether or not a course is right for them, rather than purchasing the course and then asking for a refund afterward.

CAUTION: Any content included in free preview lectures will be publicly accessible and searchable on Google, including lecture material, comments, PDFs and videos. We encourage you to exercise care when planning your free preview content.

If you have a Course Curriculum block on your Sales Page, users will be able to access any lecture marked as a free preview after clicking the Preview button. If they attempt to navigate to a lecture that has not been marked as a free preview, they will be denied access.

lecture_preview.png

To mark a lecture as a free preview, click the more options (three dot) icon to the right of the lecture. Click Set as free preview. A free preview tag will appear next to the lecture(s):

new_set_free_preview.gif

NOTE: Marking a lecture as free preview will override any drip settings you have for this lecture. This means that students will be able to view the lecture by clicking on it, even if it appears locked in your curriculum.

Delete sections and lectures

To delete an individual section or lecture, click the More options icon (three dots) to the right of the specific lecture or section you want to delete. From the drop down menu, click Delete section or Delete lecture. Click Ok to confirm.

delete_individual_section_lecture.gif

NOTE: Deleting a section or lecture is a permanent action that cannot be undone.

You can also delete multiple sections and lectures at one time. To bulk delete lectures or sections, select the checkbox to the left of the lecture or section in the Curriculum section of your course admin. The bulk action toolbar will appear above the lecture or section. Select individual lectures/sections, or select multiple for bulk deletion. Click on the trash icon and then click OK to confirm the deletion.

new_delete_section_lecture.gif

Alternatively, instead of deleting a lecture or section, you can unpublish them. When a lecture or section is unpublished, students will no longer be able to view that part of your course.

Was this article helpful?
1216 out of 1397 found this helpful
thanks_illustration

Thinking of joining? Contact Sales
Already a customer? Contact Support

thanks_illustration