This article gives you an overview of how to modify your school's general settings, take your school offline, and/or delete your school (found in the Status section below).
NOTE: Please be aware that as of June 9, 2021, schools will no longer include blogs. Existing schools with blogs will retain their blogs and comments, but schools that have not enabled blogs will lose the ability to use them. If you’d like to use blogs and have not enabled them on Teachable, consider using an alternative source such as Squarespace.
To adjust your school's general settings, navigate to the Settings > General section of your school admin. In this area, you'll be able to modify settings pertaining to your school's course lectures, authors, affiliates, lecture comments, status (where you can delete your school), and Teachable Accounts.
In this section, you can set up or adjust basic school information, including:
- School Name - The name that will appear across your site.
- Business Name - Your business name, if different from your school name. If you add a business name, this will appear on student receipts beneath your school name.
- Homepage Heading - Your school’s tagline; this appears only on the homepage.
- Homepage Description - Your school’s description; this appears below the heading.
- Reply To Email - The email address that any reply to an email sent through Teachable will go to.
- Email From Name - The sender name that will appear in your email recipients inboxes.
When the primary Remove Teachable Branding toggle is turned on, a secondary toggle will appear to remove it on your Teachable Accounts signup and login pages as well:
Add Signup reCAPTCHA - reCAPTCHA is a Google service integrated with Teachable that requires users to verify that they are human. reCAPTCHA uses an advanced risk analysis engine and adaptive challenges to keep automated software from engaging in abusive activities on your site. It does this while letting your valid users pass through with ease.
- Anonymize IPs for Google Analytics - masks IP addresses sent to Google Analytics for data privacy.
- When Prevent payment plan cancellations is toggled on, students who have enrolled under a fixed payment plan schedule will be unable to opt out of their initially agreed upon payment schedule.
in this section, you can add your school's mailing address. Please note that Teachable requires your school's physical mailing address for tax reporting purposes and to ensure that your payments arrive in a timely manner. Teachable will never share your private information with 3rd-party vendors and your mailing address will not display anywhere on your school. However, if you are using custom payment gateways, then your school's mailing address will appear on student receipts.
In this section, you can turn on/off various settings for how students encounter your lectures:
- Auto-complete lectures - Automatically marks the lecture as complete when a student finishes the last video.
- Autoplay videos - Automatically begin playing the first video when a student enters the lecture.
- Sync users course percent complete when publishing - Recalculates the course percent complete for users when the number of published lectures in a course is changed.
In this section, you can set course author permissions.
- Let authors publish courses - When toggled on, course authors can publish courses on their own. If not turned on, authors can add content to their course, but cannot publish it.
- Let authors email students - When toggled on, course authors can email their students from the Author Dashboard.
- Let authors set course prices - When toggled on, course authors can set prices on their courses.
- Let authors create coupons for their courses - When toggled on, course authors can create and distribute coupons.
- Let authors import students - When toggled on, on the Business plan, authors can manually import students.
- Let authors customize their course sales pages - When toggled on, authors can write or edit the sales pages for their own courses.
NOTE: These privileges will apply universally to all authors in your school. Setting privileges for each individual author is not available at this time.
In this section, you can adjust your school's default affiliate cookie period from 1-365 days. The "cookie period" refers to the lifespan of the cookie created for a user whenever they are led to your school through an affiliate link.
Enabling the Allow External URL redirects will allow your affiliates to direct potential students to an external landing page or lead magnet, and still receive credit for any new students they drive to your school.
For more information on school affiliates, please see our Knowledge Base here.
NOTE: In order for the external link generator to work, your school must be launched, and 'http://' or 'https://' must be prepended in the URL the affiliate enters.
In this section, you can customize comments settings:
- Enable comment moderation - When toggled on, comments will need school owner approval before appearing on lectures.
- Allow multi-level threading of responses - When toggled on, users can respond directly to a comment, with responses appearing a level beneath the original comment.
- Enable comments attachments - When toggled on, users can attach an image file to their comments.
Status (Delete school or bring school online/offline)
From the Settings > General > Status menu, you can take your school online/offline or delete your school permanently.
Change Your School's Status
If you take your school offline, it will become inaccessible to visitors and students. You can bring it back online at any time. To take your school online, click the Take My School Online button:
Similarly, to take your school offline, click the Take My School Offline button.
Delete Your School Permanently
To delete your school permanently, click Delete School Permanently. A window will appear asking you to confirm that you want to delete your school. To finalize deletion, enter your school's URL in the text box and click Yes, delete my school.
CAUTION: Deleting your school is a permanent action. Once your school is deleted, it cannot be restored, so make sure to save and/or export important school data, including user information, transaction reports, etc.
In this section, you can enable Teachable Accounts for your school users by pressing the Enable Teachable Accounts button:
Similarly, you can disable Teachable Accounts for your school users by clicking Disable Teachable Accounts.