Setting Up Drip Content

This article shows you how to release lecture sections on a specific date, or over a period of time, by using the drip content feature. School owners have the option to release lecture sections by a specific date, or by a specified amount of days after enrollment.

Overview

Dripping your school content allows you to release lecture sections on a scheduled date, or over a specified period of time. School owners may also set up an email announcement to alert their students whenever a lecture section has dripped.

Drip content (i.e the lecture section) is released at midnight UTC, and email announcements are sent out at 3:00 PM UTC (i.e. 15 hours) later. These times, and the time zones in which they are set cannot be customized. To see what time that would correspond to in your local time zone, use this UTC time converter.

Setting a Drip Schedule by Date

  1. Select a Course from the admin sidebar, or click View All and choose a published course. Note that if a course is unpublished, it is unable to be dripped.
  2. Inside the individual course area, click Drip in the submenu.
  3. From there, locate the section to be released on a specific date. Click Specific Date.
    drip_specific-date.png
  4. Click the date box to open a calendar. From there, specify the date on which the section is to be released. Please note that in order to drip a section on a specific date, the drip date must be set and activated at least 48 hours before the intended drip date.

    For example, if you wish to release a section on April 5th, the section must be activated to drip on this date by April 3rd. drip_date-picker.gif
  5. Click Activate.

Setting a Drip Schedule by Days After Enrollment

  1. After drip is enabled, select a Course from the admin sidebar, or click View All and choose a course.
  2. Inside the individual course area, click Drip in the submenu.
  3. From there, locate the section to be released on a specific amount of days after enrollment. Click Days After Enrollment.
    drip_after_days.png
  4. In the box, specify the number of days after student enrollment that a section will release. Then click Save.
    drip_after_days.gif
  5. Click Activate

Setting Up an Email Announcement

School owners have the option to set up automatic email notifications that students will receive when drip content is released. If you do not set an email announcement, then students will not be notified when drip content is released.

Drip email announcements must be set and activated at least 48 hours before the intended drip date. For example, if you wish to send an email announcement for a section that will be dripped on April 5th, the email announcement must be set and activated to drip on this date by April 3rd.

To activate email announcements, complete this process:

  1. Press the Set Email Announcement button and fill out the email form to schedule an email that lets students know when the course section will become available to them. 
    drip_set_email.png
  2. Click Save Email Announcement to save changes.

To save your email announcement as a draft, keep the Email Subject field clear. Doing so will allow you to put whatever you’d like in the Email Body field without having it send to your students—however, make sure to fill in the subject field once you’d like the announcement to send (otherwise the email will remain a draft).

In order to disable email announcements, simply clear the email subject and email body fields. Afterward, the template will revert to its default unfilled state.

Granting Students Full Access to Course Content

Granting Full Access to An Individual Student

Keep in mind that school owners can manually grant full access to students at any time. Once a student is granted full access, they will be able to view all of the course's content and will stop receiving drip email announcements. To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Visit the Users area and select a student enrolled in a course with drip enabled.
  2. Click Enrollments from the admin sidebar and scroll down to the Enrollments section.admin-users-user-profile-enrollments.png
  3. Click on the button (under Actions) next to the course that you want to give the student immediate access to and then select Grant Full Access from the drop-down menu.admin-users-user-profile-enrollments-grant-full-access.gif

    A notification will appear in the lower right corner letting you know that the student has been granted full access to the course.

Granting Full Access to All Students

To grant full access of a course to all enrolled students:

  1. After drip is enabled, select a Course from the admin sidebar, or click View All and choose a course.
  2. Inside the individual course area, click Drip in the submenu.
  3. Click Grant Students Full Access.
    drip_grant_full_access.png
  4. Click OK
    drip_fullaccess_confirmation.png

To restore the drip schedule of students who have been granted full access to your course, click Reset Students Drip Schedule. Students who previously had access to all sections of a course (through the Grant Students Full Access button) will be reinserted into the course's drip schedule in accordance with their initial enrollment date. 

For example, if you have a lecture section scheduled to drip five days after student enrollment, and you reset the drip schedule of a full access student who has been enrolled in a course for four days, they will not be able to access that lecture section until the 5th day.

Similarly, as another example, if you have a lecture section scheduled to release on 11/25, and you reset the drip schedule of all the course's full access students, they will not be able to access that course until it is released on 11/25.

restore_drip_schedule.png

thanks_illustration

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us
thanks_illustration