Supported Payment Methods and Currencies

This article gives you an overview of the supported payment methods you can accept from students enrolling in your Teachable school.

For students purchasing courses, Teachable accepts two payment methods:

  1. Major international credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, American Express)
  2. PayPal (For USD transactions only)

To sell courses in a certain currency, go into your Pricing area in a course and create a new pricing plan in that currency. Customers will be shown the course price in the currency that has been set by the school owner. For example, if an owner sets a course price in euros, the price will be shown in euros for all customers—regardless of local currency.

Teachable has a powerful eCommerce platform that allows you to accept payments in a wide range of currencies. Currencies that are unsupported for American Express cards and have been denoted with an asterisk (*).

The full list includes:

NOTE: The list below is of supported currencies for the Teachable Payment Gateway and those using US Stripe accounts. For those on a Custom Payment Gateway outside of the US, supported currencies will vary. To see which currencies are supported in your country, take a look at this article from Stripe and select your country from the drop-down.

  • AED: United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • AFN: Afghan Afghani*
  • ALL: Albanian Lek
  • AMD: Armenian Dram
  • ANG: Netherlands Antillean Gulden
  • AOA: Angolan Kwanza*
  • ARS: Argentine Peso*
  • AUD: Australian Dollar
  • AWG: Aruban Florin
  • AZN: Azerbaijani Manat
  • BAM: Bosnia & Herzegovina Convertible Mark
  • BBD: Barbadian Dollar
  • BDT: Bangladeshi Taka
  • BGN: Bulgarian Lev
  • BIF: Burundian Franc
  • BMD: Bermudian Dollar
  • BND: Brunei Dollar
  • BOB: Bolivian Boliviano*
  • BRL: Brazilian Real
  • BSD: Bahamian Dollar
  • BWP: Botswana Pula
  • BZD: Belize Dollar
  • CAD: Canadian Dollar
  • CDF: Congolese Franc
  • CHF: Swiss Franc
  • CLP: Chilean Peso*
  • CNY: Chinese Renminbi Yuan
  • COP: Colombian Peso*
  • CRC: Costa Rican Colón*
  • CVE: Cape Verdean Escudo*
  • CZK: Czech Koruna*
  • DJF: Djiboutian Franc*
  • DKK: Danish Krone
  • DOP: Dominican Peso
  • DZD: Algerian Dinar
  • EEK: Estonian Kroon*
  • EGP: Egyptian Pound
  • ETB: Ethiopian Birr
  • EUR: Euro
  • FJD: Fijian Dollar
  • FKP: Falkland Islands Pound*
  • GBP: British Pound
  • GEL: Georgian Lari
  • GIP: Gibraltar Pound
  • GMD: Gambian Dalasi
  • GNF: Guinean Franc*
  • GTQ: Guatemalan Quetzal*
  • GYD: Guyanese Dollar
  • HKD: Hong Kong Dollar
  • HNL: Honduran Lempira*
  • HRK: Croatian Kuna
  • HTG: Haitian Gourde
  • HUF: Hungarian Forint*
  • IDR: Indonesian Rupiah
  • ILS: Israeli New Sheqel
  • INR: Indian Rupee*
  • ISK: Icelandic Króna
  • JMD: Jamaican Dollar
  • JPY: Japanese Yen
  • KES: Kenyan Shilling
  • KGS: Kyrgyzstani Som
  • KHR: Cambodian Riel
  • KMF: Comorian Franc
  • KRW: South Korean Won
  • KYD: Cayman Islands Dollar
  • KZT: Kazakhstani Tenge
  • LAK: Lao Kip*
  • LBP: Lebanese Pound
  • LKR: Sri Lankan Rupee
  • LRD: Liberian Dollar
  • LSL: Lesotho Loti
  • LTL: Lithuanian Litas
  • LVL: Latvian Lats
  • MAD: Moroccan Dirham
  • MDL: Moldovan Leu
  • MGA: Malagasy Ariary
  • MKD: Macedonian Denar
  • MNT: Mongolian Tögrög
  • MOP: Macanese Pataca
  • MRO: Mauritanian Ouguiya
  • MUR: Mauritian Rupee*
  • MVR: Maldivian Rufiyaa
  • MWK: Malawian Kwacha
  • MXN: Mexican Peso*
  • MYR: Malaysian Ringgit
  • MZN: Mozambican Metical
  • NAD: Namibian Dollar
  • NGN: Nigerian Naira
  • NIO: Nicaraguan Córdoba*
  • NOK: Norwegian Krone
  • NPR: Nepalese Rupee
  • NZD: New Zealand Dollar
  • PAB: Panamanian Balboa*
  • PEN: Peruvian Nuevo Sol*
  • PGK: Papua New Guinean Kina
  • PHP: Philippine Peso
  • PKR: Pakistani Rupee
  • PLN: Polish Złoty
  • PYG: Paraguayan Guaraní*
  • QAR: Qatari Riyal
  • RON: Romanian Leu
  • RSD: Serbian Dinar
  • RUB: Russian Ruble
  • RWF: Rwandan Franc
  • SAR: Saudi Riyal
  • SBD: Solomon Islands Dollar
  • SCR: Seychellois Rupee
  • SEK: Swedish Krona
  • SGD: Singapore Dollar
  • SHP: Saint Helenian Pound*
  • SLL: Sierra Leonean Leone
  • SOS: Somali Shilling
  • SRD: Surinamese Dollar*
  • STD: São Tomé and Príncipe Dobra
  • SVC: Salvadoran Colón*
  • SZL: Swazi Lilangeni
  • THB: Thai Baht
  • TJS: Tajikistani Somoni
  • TOP: Tongan Paʻanga
  • TRY: Turkish Lira
  • TTD: Trinidad and Tobago Dollar
  • TWD: New Taiwan Dollar
  • TZS: Tanzanian Shilling
  • UAH: Ukrainian Hryvnia
  • UGX: Ugandan Shilling
  • USD: United States Dollar
  • UYU: Uruguayan Peso*
  • UZS: Uzbekistani Som
  • VND: Vietnamese Đồng
  • VUV: Vanuatu Vatu
  • WST: Samoan Tala
  • XAF: Central African Cfa Franc
  • XCD: East Caribbean Dollar
  • XOF: West African Cfa Franc*
  • XPF: Cfp Franc*
  • YER: Yemeni Rial
  • ZAR: South African Rand
  • ZMW: Zambian Kwacha

Other currencies are being made available through our payment provider Stripe.

Stripe charges your customer's card in the currency you specify. Per Stripe's documentation, your customer's bank may then add up to two types of additional charges:

  • A conversion fee to exchange the payment from the currency you specified to their local currency.
  • A foreign transaction fee for your business being based in another country.

If your account is set up to charge in the same currency as your customer's card, then they'll avoid the first fee, though they may still pay a cost for your business being based in another country. This is unfortunately up to your customer's bank, so the exact charges might vary.


Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us