This article shows you how to publish your course so students can start enrolling, outlines the difference between publishing a lecture and a course, and goes over taking your entire school offline.
Publishing/Unpublishing a Course
Publish a course in its entirety by clicking the Publish Course button in the Publish section of the course Information area. Click on the Yes, publish course button to confirm.
Similarly, after a course is published, if you wish to Unpublish it (make it inactive), click the Unpublish Course button in the same location.
Once unpublished, only those who are already enrolled in that course or those you send the course URL directly to will be able to access it.
NOTE: Make sure you’ve set up a pricing plan before directing users to your private course page. Otherwise, potential students will not be able to enroll.
Previewing Your Course
After you’ve created a course and added content, you'll likely want to preview it before having students enroll. To do so:
- Log in to your school’s admin area.
- Select the course you’d like to preview directly from the admin sidebar, or click View All to see all courses you’ve created.
- Inside a specific course area, simply click the Preview button in the upper part of the submenu.
- A pop-up modal will appear, asking you whether you want to preview the sales page as a visitor or preview the curriculum as a logged-in student.
Switch View From Logged In to Logged Out
You may be working on designing your school and want to see how it looks to people who are not logged in to your school. To do this,
- Preview your page as outlined in the steps above.
- Click Preview as in the upper right corner. Choose either Logged in user or Logged out user.
This will show you what your course looks like to someone who is logged out of your Teachable course.
Unpublished lectures in a course—AKA Drafts—will not appear to students working through the curriculum. Students will only be able to access lectures and sections that have been published. Similarly, if lectures within a section are published, but the section itself is not, lectures will not be visible to students.
Publish a lecture by selecting the checkbox to the right-hand side. If you wish to unpublish a lecture and return it to draft status, simply un-check the box. Alternatively, you can publish/unpublish an individual lecture inside the lecture area itself by clicking the Publish/Unpublish button in the top-right corner.
You can also use bulk actions to publish/unpublish multiple lectures at once. Other bulk actions include making your lectures a free preview, making your lectures downloadable, and deleting lectures.
Taking Your School Offline
If you’re planning a massive overhaul of your content, you may want to take your entire school offline while you implement the changes, rather than unpublishing each lecture/course individually. This can be done in Settings > General under Status. Learn more about taking your school offline here.
After you’ve created a course and added content, you'll likely want to preview it before having students enroll. This article shows you how to preview a course before you hit the publish button.
Making a Course Private
To make a course private, publish all the lectures, but unpublish the course itself. When a course is unpublished, it will not appear on your school's main directory, so students can only find it if (a) they were already enrolled, or (b) you provide them with a direct course URL. Make sure you have a pricing plan set up before directing students to your course page, or they will not be able to enroll.
Unpublish a course by going to the course’s main Information area. From there, click the Unpublish Course button:
To make a course even more private, you can delete all pricing plans so that students cannot enroll themselves in the course; then, manually enroll selected students from your end. If you choose this option, the students you enroll will not be charged for the course.