This article goes over using myTeachable on your school, and how to enable/disable myTeachable account access on your school for students, authors, and affiliates.
Having myTeachable-enabled school means that your students, affiliates, and authors will be able to sign up for a myTeachable account and use it to access any myTeachable-enabled school. For school owners, this means that new students will potentially be able to sign up for your school with a single click, resulting in higher conversion rates and a smoother user experience.
myTeachable Owner Accounts
With myTeachable, school owners can do the following:
- Access the admin area(s) for their existing school(s) by clicking on the school from their My Schools dashboard
- Access any myTeachable-enabled schools owned by others on which they are a student, author, or affiliate
- Create new schools
- Manage their myTeachable account settings like name, email address, Gravatar, and password
- Access the help center to resolve issues and submit support tickets to customer care
All other administrative details, like managing students, Teachable plans, billing, user payments, invoicing, report generation, and so on, are handled in your individual school admin area—not from your myTeachable dashboard.
Note that billing by Teachable for each school you own is handled separately, so if you have one school on the Basic plan and another on the Professional plan, you'll pay for them individually.
myTeachable Student Accounts
Upon logging in as a student, depending which option you choose when you set up myTeachable, users will have a variety of experiences.
Those with an existing myTeachable account that is linked to the school will see this:
Students can simply hit Continue to access the course.
Those without a myTeachable account, or not signed in to a myTeachable account, will see the same form as they usually do. From here, they can sign in with their school account:
If they do not have a school account, they can create one by clicking Create an Account. Students can create a school account by filling out the fields, agreeing to both Teachable and the School's terms, and selecting Sign Up.
If they click Log In with myTeachable, they will be prompted to sign in to their myTeachable account:
Afterwards, they will be prompted to continue logging in with their myTeachable account. If their myTeachable account is not linked to the school, it will automatically be linked upon login.
You can see school users who have myTeachable accounts set up by going to the Users area and looking for the Teachable logo by their image:
School owners on paid plans with under 100 students can disable myTeachable account access for their school users. This option is available under myTeachable in the Settings area.
Treat this option with caution, as it is likely to create confusion for your students who have been accessing the school with their myTeachable accounts until now; keep the following potential issues in mind:
- Your school will no longer show up in a student’s myTeachable dashboard.
- Students who have myTeachable accounts will have their account passwords on your school set to whatever the myTeachable password was (i.e. they’ll have the same login credentials as myTeachable).
- If a student is in the middle of a purchase on your school when you disable, the purchase will most likely not go through.
If you decide to disable myTeachable, we recommend telling your students several pieces of information beforehand to make the process as smooth as possible for them.
If you've disabled myTeachable, you can reenable it by going back to myTeachable in the Settings area. From there, click Enable myTeachable accounts. Afterwards, you'll see this prompt:
Here, you can choose whether to automatically connect a student’s myTeachable account when they sign up for your school with their myTeachable email address, or let them opt in to connect the account.
If you select Yes, automatically connect, users on your school who already have a myTeachable account will have your school automatically added to their dashboard.
If No, I’d rather have them opt in is selected, users will be required to opt in to connect their school account with their myTeachable account.