User Bulk Actions

This article reviews user bulk actions. It goes over how to use bulk actions to manage users, and which bulk actions are available for each user role.

Overview

User bulk actions allow you to select a group of users in your school and perform certain actions to that group of users. These actions include things like enrolling into a course, unenrolling from a course, emailing, or deleting users. Bulk actions can help you save time by enabling you to manage groups of users in your school in mass.

You can perform user bulk actions to all users in your school, or you can use the help of user filters to help you sort and group your users based on certain criteria.

The type of bulk actions available will vary based on the type of user you are performing the action on.

Selecting users and using bulk actions

To select a group of users in your school:

  1. Navigate to your Users tab.
  2. You can then select the Students, Owners, Authors, Affiliates, or Custom tab, depending on the user type you are looking for.
  3. Use the checkboxes next to each user name to select users from the list.
    1. If you’d like to select all users on the page, use the checkbox at the top of the Name column. If there is more than one page of users, you will then have the option to select all users.

Once you have checked off all users, you can click the Bulk Actions drop down menu at the top of your users list to select a bulk action to perform. The type of bulk actions available will vary based on the user type you have selected.

From the left side navigation menu, the USERS tab is selected, then the STUDENTS tab. Each student name is checked off, then there is an arrow pointing to the BULK ACTIONS drop down menu above the list of students.

Bulk actions for students

You can perform the following bulk actions on students:

  • Enroll in Course - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you can choose a specific course from a dropdown menu. Please note that when you manually enroll existing students into another course, they will not receive an email notification for the new enrollment.
  • Unenroll from Course - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you can choose a specific course from a dropdown menu.
  • Email - Selecting this action will redirect you to the Compose Email area with the students preselected as the recipients.
  • Delete - Selecting this action will open a popup window that will prompt you to confirm deletion of the selected students. Deleting students will also unenroll them from any products they've purchased.
  • Add Tag to User(s) - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you will be prompted to choose a user tag to assign to the selected users.
  • Remove Tag from User(s) - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you will be prompted to choose a user tag to unassign from the selected users.

The image shows a popup window that states ENROLL IN COURSE: PLEASE SELECT A COURSE TO ENROLL YOUR SELECTED USERS INTO. There is a dropdown menu.

Bulk actions for owners

You can perform the following bulk actions for owners:

  • Email - Selecting this action will redirect you to the Compose Email area with the chosen users preselected as the recipients.
  • Delete - Selecting this action will open a popup window that will prompt you to confirm deletion of the selected users. Deleting users will also unenroll them from any products they've purchased. Only Primary Owners can delete other owners.
  • Add Tag to User(s) - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you will be prompted to choose a user tag to assign to the selected users.
  • Remove Tag from User(s) - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you will be prompted to choose a user tag to unassign from the selected users.

Bulk actions for authors

You can perform the following bulk actions for authors:

  • Email - Selecting this action will redirect you to the Compose Email area with the chosen users preselected as the recipients.
  • Set Commission - Selecting this action will allow you to set a new default revenue share amount for selected authors. (This will not impact any product override revenue share amounts you have set.)
  • Delete - Selecting this action will open a popup window that will prompt you to confirm deletion of the selected users. Deleting users will also unenroll them from any products they've purchased. 
  • Add Tag to User(s) - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you will be prompted to choose a user tag to assign to the selected users.
  • Remove Tag from User(s) - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you will be prompted to choose a user tag to unassign from the selected users.

Bulk actions for affiliates

You can perform the following bulk actions for affiliates:

  • Email - Selecting this action will redirect you to the Compose Email area with the chosen users preselected as the recipients.
  • Set Commission - Selecting this action will allow you to set a new default commission amount for selected affiliates.
  • Delete - Selecting this action will open a popup window that will prompt you to confirm deletion of the selected users. Deleting users will also unenroll them from any products they've purchased. 
  • Add Tag to User(s) - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you will be prompted to choose a user tag to assign to the selected users.
  • Remove Tag from User(s) - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you will be prompted to choose a user tag to unassign from the selected users.

There is a popup window on the screen that states SET COMMISSION: SET THE COMMISSION THESE USERS SHOULD GET FOR TRANSACTIONS. There is then a field to enter a number from 0 to 100.

Bulk actions for custom users

Custom users are available on the Business plan. You can perform the following bulk actions for custom users:

  • Email - Selecting this action will redirect you to the Compose Email area with the chosen users preselected as the recipients.
  • Apply Role - Selecting this option will open a popup window where you can select, or create, a new custom role to apply to the user.
  • Make Owner - Selecting this option will open a popup window to confirm the change of making the custom user into an owner. (Schools on the business plan can have up to 20 admin users in their school, which includes owners and authors.) Learn more about the owner role.
  • Revoke Role - Selecting this option will open up a popup window where you can confirm the change. Revoking a role will remove the users’ current custom role, and will revert them to students.
  • Delete - Selecting this action will open a popup window that will prompt you to confirm deletion of the selected users. Deleting users will also unenroll them from any products they've purchased. 
  • Add Tag to User(s) - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you will be prompted to choose a user tag to assign to the selected users.
  • Remove Tag from User(s) - Selecting this action will open a popup box where you will be prompted to choose a user tag to unassign from the selected users.

There is a popup window on the page that states BULK APPLY CUSTOM ROLE: Manage administrative access by creating and  assigning user roles with custom permissions. There is a dropdown menu where users can select a custom role.

Was this article helpful?
13 out of 31 found this helpful
thanks_illustration

Thinking of joining? Contact Sales
Already a customer? Contact Support

thanks_illustration