This article explains how to cancel your paid Teachable school and what happens to schools and students when you cancel. Information on canceling a free trial can be found in this article.
Overview/Before you cancel
If you decide to cancel your paid school plan, that school will be taken offline. Over the next 90 days, Teachable will send four (4) emails reminding you to reactivate your school: at 60 days left, at 30 days left, at seven (7) days left, and the last day of the 90-day period. 90 days after you cancel your school plan, you will lose any Wistia videos you added. Your course curriculum will still be accessible.
Please note that only the Primary Owner of a school can cancel the school plan.
NOTE: If you reactivate your school or start another free trial and then cancel, the 90 day time limit resets
Cancel your school plan
Before following these steps, you must delete any custom domains you have and make your Teachable domain the primary. This section of the Custom Domains article explains how to do that. Return here when you've completed those steps.
To cancel a school plan, do the following:
- Make sure you've deleted any custom domains and set your Teachable domain as primary.
- Navigate to your school’s Plan page by clicking Settings > Plan.
- Under your current plan, click the Cancel Plan text link.
- You will be shown a screen describing the features you will lose by canceling. Click Confirm. Your school plan is now canceled.
If you do not see a Cancel Plan button under your current plan, it is possible that you already cancelled your plan. If this is the case, you should see a banner towards the top of your Settings > Plan page that indicates the date your plan will end.
If you have any issues with cancelling your plan, please review our troubleshooting steps in this Knowledge Base article.
If you would like to delete your school, please review the steps in this Knowledge Base article.
What creators can access after they cancel
Once you cancel your paid plan:
- Your site and any products you have published will no longer be accessible.
- You will no longer be able to create new products.
- You will not be able to sell and enroll any new students.
- Your existing enrolled students will no longer be able to access their enrolled courses (if your school was created after July 15, 2020, students will lose access. If your school was created before July 15, 2020 they will still have access to courses they purchased.)
- You will only be able to access your billing information
- Any existing student subscriptions will be paused. If you upgrade back to a paid plan, the subscriptions will unpause.
If you have a school created before July 15 2020, you will be downgraded to the Free plan when you cancel. Please note the following circumstances:
- Schools created before July 15, 2020 can upgrade to a paid plan at any time. When you cancel, your school will be downgraded to the default Free plan
- You will still be able to access and edit all your content when you downgrade your plan.
- If you have more than 10 students when you cancel your plan, you will not be able to sell and enroll any additional students on the Free Plan.
- Schools created on a Free plan with unlimited students that upgrade and then go back to a Free plan will have a 10 student limit placed on them.
- In all cases, any existing enrolled students will still be able to access their course materials.