Delete Your School or Account

This article reviews how to delete your Teachable school and/or user account.

Overview

If you are a school owner and looking to cancel your paid plan with Teachable, you can always downgrade to Teachable’s free plan. This allows you to keep your school and content without paying for a paid subscription.

However, if you would like to entirely delete your school and its content, you can do so at any time.

Similarly, you can request to delete your user account and information.

NOTE: To only delete a specific course or product within your school, view the Duplicate or Delete a Product article.

Delete your school

Only Primary Owners can delete a school.

It’s important to note that deleting a school is a permanent action and cannot be undone. When you delete a school, you can no longer access your school or its content.

NOTE: Deleting a school does not automatically refund any sales made.

To delete a school:

  1. Navigate to the Settings > General tab of the school admin.
  2. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the Delete School button.
  3. In the popup window, type in your school’s URL and click Delete to confirm the change. (Your school’s URL is visible at the top of your browser bar, or from your Site > Domains domain. The Delete button is only clickable if you type in the URL correctly.)

The screen shows the admin of a sample Teachable school. From the left side navigation menu, the SETTINGS tab is selected, then the GENERAL tab is selected from the submenu. At the bottom of the page, there is an arrow pointing to a DELETE SCHOOL button.

If you are eligible for a refund on your school plan, review how to request a refund.

NOTE: To only delete a specific course or product within your school, view the Duplicate or Delete a Product article.

Delete your user account

If you are a student, author, affiliate, or custom user:

To delete your user account in a specific school, contact the school owner.

NOTE: If you are a school owner and receive a deletion request from a user in your school, you can delete them from the Information tab of their user profile.

To delete your entire Teachable Account and/or any personal information from the Teachable platform, submit a deletion request by emailing us at privacy@teachable.com from the email address associated with your account.

If you are a school owner:

First, delete your school(s).

Then, to delete your Teachable Account and/or any personal information from the Teachable platform, submit a deletion request by emailing us at privacy@teachable.com from the email address associated with your account.

All users:

If you are in the EEA, UK or Switzerland and would like to exercise rights under the General Data Protection Regulation (“GDPR”), email us at privacy@teachable.com. Please include the phrase “GDPR request” in the subject line and provide us with your mailing address and country of residence.

If you are a California resident and would like to exercise rights under the California Consumer Privacy Act (“CCPA”), email us at privacy@teachable.com with the subject line “CCPA request.” Please also provide us with your mailing address and state of residence.

For more information on account deletion, GDPR, or CCPA, read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Was this article helpful?

11 out of 33 found this helpful