Custom User Roles

School owners on the Business plan have to ability to create custom user roles with varying permissions. This article goes over how to tailor user roles to fit your needs.

Overview

There are five types of user roles on Teachable—primary owner, owner, author, affiliate, and student—each of which has their own set of default permissions. These roles cannot be customized, however, the primary owner of your school can create custom user roles with the same types of permissions.

NOTE: Only users who are owners or students can be assigned a new custom role. Primary owners, authors, and affiliates cannot be assigned custom roles. However, authors role can be universally customized..

If your school is on the Business plan, you can create, apply, or remove these types of permissions:

It's important to note that some permissions can only be applied to a user's custom role in conjunction with another permission. This is because some permissions are predicated on the ability to access another permission.

  • If the Issue Purchase Refunds permission is applied, then the View Financial Information permission will also be applied.
  • If the Publish & Delete Courses permission is applied, then the Create & Manage Courses permission will also be applied.
  • If the View Course Reporting permission is applied, then the Create and Manage Courses permission will also be applied.
  • If the Erase Users permission is applied, then the Create & Manager Users permission will also be applied.

Create a Custom User Role

To create a new custom user role, go to your Settings tab and click Roles. 

settings_roles.png

Click the Create New Role Button; a modal will appear. In the Role text field, enter the name of the custom role you're creating. Use the checkboxes to assign permissions to the role, and click Save once you're done.

create_custom_role.gif

Alternatively, you can select the Create New Role option when adding a custom role user to create and apply privileges for a new role. Give the new role a name by entering text into the Role name field. Click Save once you've selected permissions for the custom role. 

create_custom_role_2.gif

Edit Custom User Roles

At anytime you can go to the Roles page to edit and/or delete your existing custom user roles. Click the ellipses icon and click either edit or delete. Edit allows you to change the permissions of a custom user role. Delete will remove the custom user role.

NOTE: You cannot delete a custom user role if it is assigned to a user.

edit_delete_custom_role.png

thanks_illustration

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us
thanks_illustration